Maryland ACEP News

2017 Award Recipients

MARCH 23, 2017 - BWI Marriott

Lauren Myers 0 826

Congratulations to the 2017 Award Recipients.  The ceremony was held during the Annual Meeting on March 23 at the BWI Marriott.

Legislator of the Year                              Delegate Terri Hill, MD


Emergency Nurse of the Year                Ashley Baynard, BSN, RN, CEN


Physician of the Year                             Ryan Shanahan, MD


EMS Physician of the Year                   Matthew J. Levy, DO, MSc, FACEP


Maryland Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) Registration Mandate

Lauren Myers 0 2033

Prescribers of controlled dangerous substances (CDS) and pharmacists licensed to dispense CDS in Maryland are required to register with the PDMP by July 1, 2017

A separate requirement for individuals to be registered with PDMP before being issued a new or renewal Maryland CDS Prescribing Permit from Office of Controlled Substances Authority (formerly Division of Drug Control) will not go into effect until July 1, 2017. Previously, this was slated to become effective October 1, 2016.

Click here to find the Version III PDMP Legislation Fact Sheet and a letter about the change in the PDMP mandate from DHMH’s Behavioral Health Administration Executive Director, Dr. Barbara Bazron and Public Health Service Deputy Secretary, Dr. Howard Haft.

Providers can register for PDMP access through the State-designated health information exchange, Chesapeake Regional Information System for our Patients (CRISP) at:


Upcoming Events

MD ACEP Board of Directors Meeting

September 26, 2017 at 11:30 am

MedChi, 1211 Cathedral St, Baltimore, MD 21201

RSVP to Lauren Myers if you plan to attend.


MD ACEP wishes to thank our Platinum Supporter of the 2017 Annual Educational Conference:

We would also like to thank our Gold Supporters:
CEP America

USAcute Care Solutions

Get Social

We need your voice. Watch this to understand why.